2/27/10
2/26/10
The Down Low with MegLo featuring Mazlyn
We are all getting a stomach bug.. but if I really want to be a stay-at-home mommy blogger and get paid doing it, I have to buckle down and blog everyday. Even if nothing's going on (which in this house...is a rarity.) I will not have a video blog everyday, but it so super easy and fun, I just can't resist right now. Eventually I am sure it will grow old and obnoxious (it's coming close to that already...) and I KNOW I will miss writing, so I will probably go back and forth between the two avenues.
p.s. Make a google account and follow me for heaven's sake. (this statement is intended for my mother in particular) Then I don't have to post all of them on FB.
Well, I will be seeing ya..
m
2/25/10
The Down Low with MegLo except Lo isn't here
** you may need to turn this badboy up.. I'm a soft speaker and it's really hard to hear me. I will try to work on this problem... but I have a lot of other issues that I need to work on that are way more important than speaking softly, so it may take a loooong ass time. Thanks for being patient.
The Down Low with MegLo
Logan just ate chicken nuggets @ 1 am (hence the ketchup covered face). I was messing around on the internet and he came over and asked, "hey mom, do you think we can do a weblog?" I was like, um.. absolutely. So this is the beginning of the DownLo with MegLo. Get it?
I'm a dork, I know.. but it keeps me busy in this lame life I lead.
Disclaimers:
*Logan does not talk in full sentences.
**I did eventually wash his face.
2/19/10
A few things
Let's begin with the Sarah Palin/'Family Guy' feud, shall we? I watched the episode and I laughed, a lot. As a DS mom, I thought it was pretty cool that a character with DS was portrayed. I don't think, Ellen,(the character with Down Syndrome) was portrayed in a negative way, she was feisty and had incredible self-confidence. Did I mention that one of the main character, Chris, had a crush on Ellen and asked her out on a date? How cool is that?? A 'typical' boy having a crush on a 'non typical' girl. Of course there were little jokes about some of the characteristics that many people with DS have and other developmental disabilities have, but they weren't that bad, in my opinion. I don't believe that Seth MacFarlane was making fun of Sarah Palin's adorable baby. I think he was putting in a zinger aimed at her... she's the moron, not her baby. If the writers would have left out the "My mom's the former governor of Alaska" comment, I don't know if such an uproar would have been made about the whole episode. I always hear variants of the word, "inclusion", as in, "We want our children to be included. We want them to fit it." Well, finally a character with Down Syndrome was included in a prime time cartoon and all of sudden, it's a bad thing. 'Family Guy' makes fun of people, that's what that show is popular for. Gay, straight, black, white, developmentally delayed... we are all now included.
Tiger Woods, thank you so much for coming out and apologizing. I can now sleep at night. You are a male whore and you're sorry. Ok.. but you lied again when you said Elin didn't beat the shit out of you. We all know she did, and you deserved it, you douche. Thank your lucky stars you weren't married to me, bc I am pretty sure you would have had a pitching wedge through your left eye and coming out your right ear and a 5 wood wrapped around your neck. When I get really mad, I turn all green and I can bend steel like it's a bread tie. You will be fine. Elin will, in time, be fine and hopefully your kids will be fine. They are the people you messed up the most, ass. Have fun paying for their therapy when they get older and realize their dad was an egotistical dickhead who betrayed their mom with a seemingly never-ending train of slutbags. Who knows what kind of diseases are floating out there in Tiger world. Icky.
James Traficant's hair beats Donald Trump's hair. Period.
I'm pretty thirsty, but we don't have anything in this God forsaken house to drink but beer and apple juice. Oh, and milk and water, but those are bor-ing.
A couple shout outs: If you live in Marion County, Ohio. Vote for my dad, Lewis Holland, in the upcoming May primary. He is running on the republican ticket for county auditor. I would vote for him, but I am 1. a democrat and 2. don't live in that county. Sorry, about that, dad.
Check out www.nataliedee.com, www.toothpastefordinner.com, www.marriedtothesea.com, www.superpoop.com (all of these comics can be found on Natalie Dee's site via links, fyi) very funny stuff. Please support my future daughter-in-law's parents (they don't know this yet, but their daughter is betrothed to my Logan.)
Last night, my hubby decided it would be a good idea to let me purchase 4000 microsoft player points for his xbox 360 so I could download songs for rockband. I am obsessed with rockband and I am obsessed with buying more girl songs that I can sing. So we paid the $50 to buy 27 songs. No joke. I still have 24 songs I want to buy. When it's all said and done, we will have a never-ending setlist of over 150 songs to conquer before beating the game. We will also be able to have some fun rock band shin digs at my house.
Ahhh,
I probably should shower. I am not going to lie, this stay-at-home mom stuff is kind of turning me into a stanky, lazy woman. I am on a path to be the female Ted Kaczynski. If I start writing a manifesto, shoot me, please.
MEH
2/15/10
Welcome to Antartica...
I was just farting around on my lil, itty-bitty lap top (actually it's my mother's, she let me use it so I could write a book- which I will get to eventually. Well, maybe...if I have time...ok, probably not) anyhoo, so farting around and I thought to myself, "hmm. Maybe I should write another blog because I am crazy, freaking popular and so many people want to know what's going on in my super-stellar life." I then logged onto Blogger to get this thang started, and ultimately realized..... I HAVE NO LIFE. No life=nothing impressive to talk about. So I will delight you with the little things that have been going on in the casa that will probably bore the shat out of you- but you will read it, and you will probably like it, because you don't have a life either, do you? That's what I thought, loser.
SNOW, SNOW, and more redundant damn snow. We get the point... move on Alberta Clippers and El Nino.. I'm fairly sure that 89% of the people in Ohio are over it. The ones who aren't, really need to be quiet about it.. you're adding to my winter blues, morons.
This afternoon, as the hubs and I were driving 10 mph on a super slickery (that's right, I said SLICKERY) Route 23, my husband looks over to me, and says in a soft, romantic voice, "you know, I really do enjoy driving on the snow when it's really, really bad outside because no one else is driving and it drowns out the road noise."
"WHAT?!?!? I didn't realize 'road noise' is sooooo annoying that you'd rather have a sundae of 3"of ice and 2" of gray slushy crap, topped off with a hearty 16" of snow. I think the pain medicine you have been taking for your messed up back is fucking with that head of yours."
I really do need to just get over it. For some stupid reason, my ancestors decided that out all of the states to settle in, they were going to pick Ohio. Ohio has some supernatural power that sucks people in and holds them here, just like the island on 'LOST'. Hey!! Wouldn't ya know it... just saw a polar bear out in my damn back yard. (Which I do not think is much of a stretch, seein' how we have 47" of freaking white death outside!!!! ) I have tried to leave Ohio, but I keep comin' back. I think there are subliminal messages during OSU football games, making people want to stay here...forever.
Valentine's Day was yesterday. So, what'd you get? Roses? Chocolates? Herpes? I thought so... dirty, dirty. I received a card and 3.. count 'em 3 Carmello bars. All-in-all pretty good day.
Today is President's day. So, what'd you get? Snow? Ice? Frostbite? I thought so... freezing, freezing. I received an ugly reminder of how much I hate snow (have I mentioned that, yet...)
What else is going on...
- My mom has called me on the phone at least 8 times today.
- We bought some furniture for Dan's new and improved man-cave to replace what was lost in the flood of the old man-cave.
- We ordered Baby Logan some spiffy new spectacles. They are specially made for kiddos with smaller bridges on their noses (which is common with kids who have Down Syndrome.) He now doesn't look like a professor. The kid looks straight-up like Harry Potter. Once those babies come in, I'm posting pics. I'm also buying him a wand in the future. It's his destiny.
- I broke my toe. At least at the time, I thought I broke my toe. But now I just think it was a really pretty bruise.
- We went to Hocking Hills with friends. We had a good time, I even hiked... in the snow. (hypocritical, much, Megan???)
I think that is really all that has been happening in my world. I am thinking of buying a webcam and starting a video blog. It would really be more convenient for me, saving me from carpal tunnel, since I like to go on and on about nothing. But until all of that happens... same bat time. same bat channel.
Mega-rega-ding-dong