10/27/09

freaking sick kids!

This week, for the most part, has sucked.

For starters, Dan's BF from his childhood and one of our best men in our wedding, Quenton, FINALLY got married. He married, Janet, who is although quiet, is super nice and is a good girl. She gets our approval. It was tons of fun, we got to see people we never see, like Que's family, who are cool as hell, and Brian, the other best man at our wedding. Dan was asked to be a groomsman, which is was thrilled and honored to do. The wedding was gorgeous!

We left our kids in the care of my gma, aunt carol, and mom. During the reception, we got a frantic call from my grandma telling me we needed to leave pronto. Caden was not breathing well and had a fever of 103.8 that wouldn't come down. As I had mentioned previously, all the kids have been sick since Sep. 29th and I am soo over it! When we left earlier in the day, Caden was fine... still not feeling 100%, but definitely better than before. So we left barely saying goodbye or giving well wishes to anyone, and drove the 45 miles back to Marion to check on Caden. It's hard to know for sure just how sick he is, because some people have made him out to be on his death bed when he really wasn't. So after talking to my aunt Carol, who seems to be the most level headed about Caden's medical crap, and got her take on the situation, I decided he must really be sick. We ended up not taking him to the E.R. right away. His doc said it was best to let him rest and take him the next day.

He has a pulsox machine at home that measures his oxygen level in the blood. When he's healthy, while sleeping he will sat from 92-98%. That night, he was dropping to 82%. I finally made Dan take him to the local E.R. at 4 am. I followed around 5 am when mom got here to watch the other kids. Caden had pnuemonia on the right side, it was decided that he needed to be transferred to the children's hospital. We only send him to Cincinnati Chilren's since that is where all of his docs are, so the ambulance was on its way to make the 2 1/2 hour trek. We got the news the ambulance was called off. They timed out (they can only work so many hours at a time), so we were then going to be med flighted to Cinci. I am freaked out about flying so I was going to make Dan go with him.... until the canceled the flight due to weather. Another ambulance was on its way. Long story, short- 2 hours later the ambulance gets there and 3 hours after that we are finally in cinci. Caden received steroids and antibiotics and was immediately better. He needed to stay overnight to just be monitored. He was swabbed for the h1n1, and was treated with Tamiflu just as a precaution. We only stayed overnight and we came home yesterday.

Last night, our county was holding a h1n1 vaccine for children and pregnant women. I made the almost last-minute decision to take all 3 kids and get this taken care of. We got in line at 6:30 and finally received the vaccines at 8:50. Logan couldn't get his, they ran out of baby needles. So I get to make another trip with him (yay.) Thanks to Christi, who helped me with all of the kids. If she wasn't there I would have went crazy. There were so many crazy, crying kids there. I don't know how elementary school teachers do it! I wanted to pull my hair out and scoop my ear drums out with a spoon.

This is going to be a long winter.

oh- happy 4th birthday, Mazlyn!!

10/12/09

Damn you, Porky

This blog is dedicated to pigs. (Swine flu, moi, and Olivia)

Ok, I admit it... I am FREAKED out by H1N1. Lovingly called by my facebook pal, Natalie, "the hinnies". If one of the boys gets this junk- I don't know what will happen. They both have already compromised airways (Caden's airway is life threatening as it is).. so I should be allowed to panic, right? I feel like I am being the annoying mom that I never wanted to be. We have been dealing with some sort of respiratory funkiness for 2 weeks now. Logan and Mazzy have had fevers, body aches, vomiting, and this ridiculous cough. Caden, knock on wood, has been pretty healthy. Can anyone lead me to where I can purchase bubbles? I will lock these kids up John Travolta style until this thing blows over. Since they cannot receive the nasal mist, I am stuck impatiently waiting for the hinnies shot. *SIGH*

In other news, Dan (the hubs) passed his physical test to possibly get a spot in the tactical unit for our county's police departments. Now, he just needs to pass the oral review. I'm proud of him- he has worked his booty off in training and has dropped close to 30 lbs in no time flat. Those same 30 only took me 2 years to shed. Jerk.

I have lost a total of 48 lbs. Let me tell you how I did it. Hard work- just kidding. First, I went on Atkins. Lost a bunch, gained it back. Second, Jenny Craig, LOVED IT.. but gained it back after I didn't have enough money to continue. Third, some diet pills that I got from a sketchy dr's office. They worked, I lost 30 in 3 months. After going off those pills, I started to gain it back... then I switched my ADHD meds, and lost the weight fast with those (I am never hungry and forget to eat.) While on the new ADHD meds, I started to work out and from there, have lost and I am still losing. I need to remember to eat though! I am barely getting my 1200 calories a day and there is no way I could eat every 2 hours, I'm just not hungry. I think I just need to get some protein powder and have a shake during the day as I am always thirsty. I don't know, I am not at all an expert on the weight loss subject.

Mazlyn's 4th birthday is fast approaching and on her cake, she wants Olivia, the pig from the books and the Nick Jr. show. I am happy to oblige because I think that show is the cutest show, ever. However, I now have the task of figuring out how to draw her on the cake. Maybe tracing on rice paper? I don't have the right printer to print Olivia's pic onto frosting sheets. I have 16 days to figure this out. I am the queen of procrastinating in case you haven't figured this out.

If anyone has any thoughts or recommendations about the hinnies, weight loss, or Olivia feel free to lend me your brain.

10/10/09

number 1, number 1, now our fun has just begun...

Back by popular demand, (if you consider my cousin, Errika, "popular demand") is my super, sweet, silliness of a blog. Let me first say that I have horrible grammar. If you're the kind of person who likes to point out such errors, I must just say, simmer down pyscho. I'm pretty sure you're not perfect either. I also swear... a lot. I will try not to, however, since my 4-year-old daughter swears like a drunk trucker.

Now on with the goodness. Many of you know that my hubs (Dan) and I have 3 bratty kids. Caden, 7, who was born with rare medical anomolies. Which include gems like complete tracheal rings and choledochal cysts. After birth, he developed portal vein thrombosis, osteopenia, and profound hearing loss in both ears AKA deafness. He has had over 7 major surgeries and 200+ surgical procedures.. probably more. We have lost count. He spent the first 14 months of his life in 5 different hospitals.. blah, blah, blah.
Mazlyn, 4, is a jerk-ball. I thought little girls were supposed to be sweet and loving. She is just a funny, little jerk-ball.
Logan, 2, has down syndrome and he knows how to use it. He's cute, but he has a manipulative streak. We have been lucky with Logan though, he's only had 4 surgical procedures and ear tubes, no heart defects.

I am a stay-at-home mom 6 days a week. I work on Sundays as a hair-designer to pretty much keep my sanity. I also began selling Uppercase Living Products. I love it, I get to be artsy fartsy and meet other adults at the same time.

The hubs is a po-po. He thinks he's cool. I can assure you, he's not. He is, however, a helluva good dad and a pretty kick-a$$ hubby. So he can hang around... until Ryan Reynolds dumps Scarlett and asks me to marry him. Then I am outta here! J/K (not really)

So that pretty much sums it up for blog #1. Oh! We also have a swell cat, who catches mice like crazy, and a dog... who has seizures. As if we don't have enough medical issues to deal with.

Now, I am off to watch House with the sick hubs.


Till next time...

Meg

p.s. You're welcome, Errika.